Snowdrops and Snowbooks

I deleted yesterday’s post. I haven’t done that before. It was rubbish. I must have been tired when I wrote it, too late in the day when my brain was in sleep mode, sure that I could just bash something out on the keys. As every writer knows, ‘bashing something out’ is not good enough. I have posted a pretty picture to make up for it, taken this morning during a trip to the Royal Botanic Gardens estate at Dawyck in an attempt to clear cobwebs from my brain. The air there was fresh. Bracing. Bloody cold. Cleared the cobwebs. Froze the spiders to death.

That’s covered the snowdrops. So what’s this about Snowbooks? You already know that I write. I have been within a gnat’s eyeball of having my work accepted (click this). Apart from the submission years ago to Random House I have so far submitted my work only to agents. Rumours are that the big publishers don’t bother with submissions from new authors, they rely on agents to do their sifting for them. A few years ago one of the best known agencies, Darley Anderson, asked me for an exclusive on one of my novels. Unfortunately it wasn’t the one they chose to take forwards. Unlike in the Olympics there are no medals for coming second and third. But could the rumours about not bothering with publishers be wrong? There are a lot of independents out there. Snowbooks (lovely name!) is one. They publish an ‘open rejection letter’ on their website and I have read it already, it’s a nice one. Could this mean that I don’t need to send them a novel…?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Snowdrops and Snowbooks

  1. Hey Richard, found your blog via Scott Pack. I read your first chapter and loved it – it’s great. With publication looking increasingly unlikely, you were toying with making your book available freely. I’m posting to encourage you to do just that. A few years ago I found myself in a similar situation to you. I wrote a novel, got an agent and found my work in front of a dozen top publishers. I received a dozen enthusiastic appraisals of my writing. I started submitting direct to publishers, including Snow Books, and I even got a personal email from the head of one publisher saying how excited he was by my writing. (Not excited enough to want to publish it, as it turned out.) I gave up on the book and put it on of the many free novel websites. Since then, it’s been downloaded over 20,000 times. Turns out that I was hungrier to be read than I was to be published. Try it, I recommend it. Best wishes, Ned

Leave a Reply

