Pussy cat, pussy cat. There, despite Edinburgh airport, go I…

I have been up to London, not to see The Queen but Princess Anne, HRH the Princess Royal, who was holding a garden party to celebrate her 60th birthday. I wasn’t invited, my wife was. I have said before that I am one of those people who gets taken to things as a guest. HRH is the patron of the Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society (The Caley), and Pam is ‘involved’ with them. I used to work in London, and the thought of visiting the place voluntarily, in midsummer, in a suit, held little attraction. The chaos at Edinburgh Airport’s security check-in, clearly incapable of handling summer traffic, despite our arrival 90 minutes before check-in time, did nothing to convince me that the trip was a good thing. We were advised by airport staff to push our way to the front of the zigzag queues, past a hundred-odd waiting (and hissing and booing) passengers. Ever tried that? In some countries we would have been lynched. Edinburgh Airport, get your act together, it was an appalling experience.

Buck House was super. If you want to see how things can be organised to perfection, get on one of these visits. Though if the Queen and the Establishment can’t get it right, I don’t know who can. No photos of course. I’m sure you know what the place looks like.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

