To BP or not to BP…*

I have gas central heating and a gas hob. It’s probably not the same gas you use because chances are yours comes through a pipe. Mine comes from a large tank in my garden that is refilled by a BP Gas tanker. Until last year I had to check the gauge on the top of my tank, and when its contents dropped to around 30% I logged on to the the BP Gas website and placed an order for more. The system worked well. I usually had a delivery within one week of placing the order.

This has now been superseded by new technology. I am told that I no longer have to read the gauge and place orders because my tank now has a transmitter that communicates with BP. A month ago I found the transmitter covered by one foot of snow and when I cleared it away I noticed that the gauge showed 30%. Because the transmitter had probably been unable to transmit for a while I ordered a top-up on line and explained why I had done it. I told BP that the access to my tank was clear and that surrounding roads had been snowploughed and gritted.

Christmas came and went. New Year came and went. Still no top-up. My tank level now reads 10%, the needle is well into the red, and in case the thing that talks to BP hasn’t told them that, I have done it too.

Thankfully we are having a heatwave, it is +3ºC today instead of the -8ºC to -22ºC we had last month so I have turned the heating down (and off, whenever I can). Today I heard tankers, but none came to me. Instead they delivered heating oil to my neighbours.

You would think BP would want to sell as much gas as it possibly could, given that they have rather large bills to pay elsewhere in the world. As far as BP is concerned, President Obama and I are not happy bunnies.

*and the question is (posed not by Hamlet, but by me), will that tanker come before I run out of gas? If it doesn’t then I’m going to be looking for someone else to supply my gas, I’m sure other companies will be interested.

Watch this space…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “To BP or not to BP…*

  1. Pingback: Vote with your feet | Richard Whittle______PlaypitsPark

  2. Pingback: Out of Gas* | Richard Whittle______PlaypitsPark

Leave a Reply

