Category Archives: Uncategorized

Don’t tell him, Pike!*

S

Sometimes I stumble upon things that I find hard to believe. How about this one? I came across the obituary of Günter Behnisch, in Germany a respected, well-known architect who died in 2010. His obituary describes him as the man who gave post-war Germany a new face. Look at the tower in the photo above, and then at the black and white pic. Notice anything? The tower on the architect’s model? The gun platform on the u-boat? A new face? Really?

subC

The more I Googled, the better it got. Coincidence? I don’t think so. If you are unconvinced, here are more:

 

Still unconvinced? Would help if I told you that before he became an architect, Günter Behnisch was a U-boat commander in WWII?

Herr Behnisch, it seems, had a wonderful sense of humour.

*Dad’s Army

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Slime mould in your grass

SlimeMould

I have read that this stuff (or yellow variations of it), is harmless. It is not. According to Professor Roy Watling this ‘Dog’s Vomit Fungus’ fuligo septica has spores that can enter the pores in your skin and cause VERY NASTY THINGS to happen there. It has appeared in my grass in Autumn (Fall). If you get it, don’t mow it or touch it. Use a plastic bag over your hand and do that dog-poo thing with it. Tear up the grass to lift it up. Bag it and bin it. Best not to breathe while you are doing it. And wash your hands, of course. Here endeth…. etc.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

RICHARD WHITTLE’S LATEST THRILLER

IMAGINE…

A murder in a remote village in Scotland, the victim brutally beaten
A damaged boat in harbour, a strange crewman
A derelict house, an abandoned mine
Then other, seemingly unrelated deaths…

THE MAN WHO PLAYED TRAINS

Published by Urbane

 

Now at Amazon, Waterstones, Blackwells and all good bookshops

tmwpt

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

PRESS RELEASE – The Man Who Played Trains

THE MAN WHO PLAYED TRAINS

The gripping new thriller from the author of ‘Playpits Park’

Press information for immediate release: 10/05/2017

The Man Who Played Trains is Richard Whittle’s compelling second novel, following the acclaimed debut Playpits Park. A gripping thriller that will appeal to fans of Martin Cruz Smith, Jack Higgins and Robert Harris, The Man Who Played Trains is an addictive and complex story of conspiracy, murder, secrets and a race against time to discover the truth. It publishes 25th May 2017.

Mining engineer John Spargo is distraught when his mother is attacked in her home and later dies from her injuries. He also discovers her home has been thoroughly searched. Determined to track down her killer and discover the truth behind her death, John finds a connection between his late father’s wartime mine and the wreck of a U-Boat. The connection deepens when he discovers the diaries of the U-Boat captain and a wartime mission to spirit Göring to safety along with a fortune in stolen art. When John’s daughter Jez is kidnapped, he is contacted by a mysterious consortium. Her life hangs in the balance unless he can find the stolen art. What is the link with his father’s abandoned mine? Who was the U-Boat captain? Did he survive and hide Göring’s treasures? John races against time to discover the truth…and in doing so may unearth secrets that were better left buried…

 Richard Whittle says: ‘I’m definitely a fan of the secrets people keep, and like to explore the dynamics of those who keep them – and those who want to reveal them! The second world war in particular provides a wealth of ‘conspiracies’ and outlandish plots for a writer to sink their teeth into, and there’s something compelling about exploring the impact of history on the lives, ambitions and emotions of contemporary people. My central characters, people like you and me, find that they have been dragged into situations beyond their control and from which there seems little chance of escape. For them, crimes are most definitely involved.’

Richard has been a policeman, a police marksman and police motorcyclist, a diesel engine tester, professional engineering geologist and Chartered Engineer. He has worked in civil engineering, geothermal energy, nuclear and mining industries in seventeen countries in Europe, Africa and the Americas and is able to draw on a wealth of personal experiences. Well known in his field as a technical writer, he spent time as a book reviewer for technical journals and regularly contributed to professional publications. As a spare-time novelist he had several short stories published. In 2002, writing as Alan Frost, he was shortlisted for the Crime Writers Association’s Debut Dagger Award. More recently, his self-published novel, Playpits Park, has been downloaded as an eBook more than 4000 times. Richard has been a trustee of a Scottish Charitable Organisation, acting first as its project manager and then its technical advisor. He now writes full time. He currently lives in the Scottish Borders, not too far away from Edinburgh.

THE MAN WHO PLAYED TRAINS by RICHARD WHITTLE:

PUBLISHING DATE: 25th May 2017 by Urbane Publications

ISBN: 978-1911331032

PRICE: £8.99

DIMENSIONS: B format paperback. 520 pages

CATEGORY: Thriller, war thriller, conspiracy thriller, action and adventure

tmwpt

For further information, review copies and interviews please contact Matthew Smith matthew@urbanepublications.com / +44 (0)7578890446

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Crime, mystery, thriller!

The Man Who Played Trains is published by Urbane Publications, available in May 2017 from your bookshop, or online from the usual suspects. It is not a war story, despite the flag – though the flag is there for a reason…

TMWPT 03

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don’t be fooled by the title…

… of my latest novel, The Man Who Played Trains

IMAGINE…
A murder in a remote village in Scotland, the victim brutally beaten
Nobody knows why, not you, not the police
A damaged boat in harbour, a strange crewman
A derelict house, an abandoned mine
Then more, seemingly unrelated deaths

So why that title? Why The Man Who Played Trains?

Buy: Amazon

Buy: Waterstones

Buy: Browns

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Interview with Richard Whittle

The Man Who Played Trains is due to be published by Urbane Publications in April. I was recently interviewed by A Lover of Books about my novel. Click on the blue link…

Interview with Richard Whittle

interview

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Waterstones: The Man Who Played Trains

tmwpt1

Leave a comment

December 22, 2016 · 5:10 pm

The Man Who Played Trains

Excellent news for me today! My latest novel, The Man Who Played Trains, is up on Amazon

It will be published next April (2017) by Urbane Publishing

tmwpt

Check it out here: http://amzn.to/2gce9Hg

Mining engineer John Spargo is distraught when his mother is attacked in her home and later dies from her injuries. Her home has been ransacked. Determined to track down her killer and discover the truth behind her death, John finds a connection between his late father’s wartime mine and the wreck of a U-Boat. The connection deepens when he discovers the diaries of the U-Boat captain and a wartime mission to spirit Göring to safety along with a fortune in stolen art. When John’s daughter Jez is kidnapped, he is contacted by a mysterious consortium her life hangs in the balance unless he can find the stolen art. What is the link with his father’s abandoned mine? Who was the U-Boat captain? Did he survive and hide Göring’s treasures? John races against time to discover the truth…and in doing so may unearth secrets that were better left buried…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Japan is the place to be…

Well, maybe not for everything, but for a 10 day holiday I can’t think of anywhere better at the moment, I would go back there tomorrow if it wasn’t so far (and if I could afford the flight!).

I worked in around 20 countries and I can truthfully say that I have never met such polite, helpful people nor been in cities (Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima) without litter or graffiti – and we didn’t just visit tourist spots, we went well off the beaten track.

Oh – another thing – there seem to be no cars parked in Kyoto streets. If you own a car you have to prove to the police that you have off-street parking at home. They measure your car and your parking space…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized