Tag Archives: u-boat

Don’t tell him, Pike!*

S

Sometimes I stumble upon things that I find hard to believe. How about this one? I came across the obituary of Günter Behnisch, in Germany a respected, well-known architect who died in 2010. His obituary describes him as the man who gave post-war Germany a new face. Look at the tower in the photo above, and then at the black and white pic. Notice anything? The tower on the architect’s model? The gun platform on the u-boat? A new face? Really?

subC

The more I Googled, the better it got. Coincidence? I don’t think so. If you are unconvinced, here are more:

 

Still unconvinced? Would help if I told you that before he became an architect, Günter Behnisch was a U-boat commander in WWII?

Herr Behnisch, it seems, had a wonderful sense of humour.

*Dad’s Army

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

PRESS RELEASE – The Man Who Played Trains

THE MAN WHO PLAYED TRAINS

The gripping new thriller from the author of ‘Playpits Park’

Press information for immediate release: 10/05/2017

The Man Who Played Trains is Richard Whittle’s compelling second novel, following the acclaimed debut Playpits Park. A gripping thriller that will appeal to fans of Martin Cruz Smith, Jack Higgins and Robert Harris, The Man Who Played Trains is an addictive and complex story of conspiracy, murder, secrets and a race against time to discover the truth. It publishes 25th May 2017.

Mining engineer John Spargo is distraught when his mother is attacked in her home and later dies from her injuries. He also discovers her home has been thoroughly searched. Determined to track down her killer and discover the truth behind her death, John finds a connection between his late father’s wartime mine and the wreck of a U-Boat. The connection deepens when he discovers the diaries of the U-Boat captain and a wartime mission to spirit Göring to safety along with a fortune in stolen art. When John’s daughter Jez is kidnapped, he is contacted by a mysterious consortium. Her life hangs in the balance unless he can find the stolen art. What is the link with his father’s abandoned mine? Who was the U-Boat captain? Did he survive and hide Göring’s treasures? John races against time to discover the truth…and in doing so may unearth secrets that were better left buried…

 Richard Whittle says: ‘I’m definitely a fan of the secrets people keep, and like to explore the dynamics of those who keep them – and those who want to reveal them! The second world war in particular provides a wealth of ‘conspiracies’ and outlandish plots for a writer to sink their teeth into, and there’s something compelling about exploring the impact of history on the lives, ambitions and emotions of contemporary people. My central characters, people like you and me, find that they have been dragged into situations beyond their control and from which there seems little chance of escape. For them, crimes are most definitely involved.’

Richard has been a policeman, a police marksman and police motorcyclist, a diesel engine tester, professional engineering geologist and Chartered Engineer. He has worked in civil engineering, geothermal energy, nuclear and mining industries in seventeen countries in Europe, Africa and the Americas and is able to draw on a wealth of personal experiences. Well known in his field as a technical writer, he spent time as a book reviewer for technical journals and regularly contributed to professional publications. As a spare-time novelist he had several short stories published. In 2002, writing as Alan Frost, he was shortlisted for the Crime Writers Association’s Debut Dagger Award. More recently, his self-published novel, Playpits Park, has been downloaded as an eBook more than 4000 times. Richard has been a trustee of a Scottish Charitable Organisation, acting first as its project manager and then its technical advisor. He now writes full time. He currently lives in the Scottish Borders, not too far away from Edinburgh.

THE MAN WHO PLAYED TRAINS by RICHARD WHITTLE:

PUBLISHING DATE: 25th May 2017 by Urbane Publications

ISBN: 978-1911331032

PRICE: £8.99

DIMENSIONS: B format paperback. 520 pages

CATEGORY: Thriller, war thriller, conspiracy thriller, action and adventure

tmwpt

For further information, review copies and interviews please contact Matthew Smith matthew@urbanepublications.com / +44 (0)7578890446

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Crime, mystery, thriller!

The Man Who Played Trains is published by Urbane Publications, available in May 2017 from your bookshop, or online from the usual suspects. It is not a war story, despite the flag – though the flag is there for a reason…

TMWPT 03

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

“Don’t tell him, Pike”*

Sometimes I stumble upon things that I find hard to believe. How about this one? I came across the obituary of a certain Günter Behnisch, in Germany a respected, well-known architect who died in 2010. His obituary, in ‘Spiegel Online‘ describes him as the man who gave post-war Germany a new face. New face? Really? Look at the photo above and then at this black and white pic. Notice anything? The tower on the architect’s model? The gun platform on the u-boat?

The more I Googled, the better it got. Coincidence? I don’t think so. If you are unconvinced, here are more:

Building


u-boat


Building

u-boat

Still not convinced? Perhaps it would help if I told you that before he became an architect, Günter Behnisch was a u-boat commander in WWII.

Herr Behnisch, it seems, had a sense of humour.

*Dad’s Army

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized