MATHEWSONS ARE THE BUSINESS!

If you have watched Bangers and Cash on TV’s Yesterday you will know what I mean. I am about to have dealings with them (So – if classic vehicles are not your thing, then switch off now…)

Still with me? Previously, my blog posts have been mainly about writing. I am a published author. I am also a retired chartered engineer and engineering geologist. My writing was interrupted by Covid – not because I caught it (I did. But luckily, unlike tens of thousands of others, it was relatively minor) but because my writing suffered because I did 95% of my writing in coffee shops. Understandably, that came to an end.

Not only do I love writing, I love restoring old motorbikes. Well, I used to. I suppose that like all good things, favourite pastimes come to an end. Been there, done that (haven’t got the T-shirt, but my son and grandson bought me one with Honda on it – they couldn’t find one with Triumph. Obviously not TOMCC* members).

So what’s all this about Mathewsons? Well, they are a family of auctioneers based in Thornton-le-Dale in East Yorkshire (known as the East Riding when I was a boy. I am a Yorkshire lad, but not since I was around 2 years old). WW2 was in full swing and the port of Hull was definitely not the place to be for a mum and her baby boy.

Not only do Mathewsons auction classic cars, they also auction motorcycles. I have four to sell. The sale is scheduled for May 1st and 2nd, and for me it’s going to be an emotional separation – no, more like a divorce – from four much loved bikes – particularly the three I stripped down to the last nut and bolt and rebuilt (over twenty or so years and at great expense. Well, that’s what you do with hobbies, isn’t it?).

The auction is scheduled for 1st & 2nd May (2024). In the unlikely event that you are interested, or know someone who might be, I am about to list details of the four bikes, complete with photos. If you have read as far as this despite not being the slightest bit interested in classic motorbikes, then thank you. I promise I won’t do it again.


1969 500cc Triumph T100P Mercury

The Triumph Mercury is a little-known model produced by Triumph for the police and military. It was based on the Triumph T100S, but with 7:1 ratio pistons instead of 9:1. Research shows that this is possibly an ex-City of London police bike. I can’t prove that, but in 1969 the Triumph Meriden works supplied this bike to dealers Harvey Owen in London. In the same year, Harvey Owen supplied the CoL police with several Triumph 500cc bikes.

I bought it in 2003 and stripped and rebuilt it. I spent around £3000 on parts and fettling (that’s around £6,000 today, how stupid was that?). It has new (9:1) pistons, a reground crankshaft, new valve guides, valves and non-leaded fuel seats. Also a new SRM clutch assembly, quick-detachable rear wheel, all bearings, seals and bushes. New stainless steel bolts were used wherever practicable. The mileage on the speedometer is 17,403. It has travelled less than 100 miles since the rebuild. This is an awesome beast of a bike and I shall miss it! Note: Slight paint run on tank. I scratched the paint, so had to repaint the tank two days before I sent the bike it to Mathewsons. No time to check and buff out the run!


1961 500cc Triumph 5TA Speed Twin

This is the ex-Bristol Police bike ridden by me in the early 1960s during my ten years in the force. I bought it 2006 and completely rebuilt it to its original appearance. All the original radios were destroyed by the Home Office, so mine is a faithful replica that is modelled on police photos. The bike now has a new 12-volt Sparks alternator, a Morgo oil pump, new wheels, new seat, an Avon screen, twin spark ignition and 12 volt ‘Power Box’ electrics. The speedo was reconditioned (by H.Woods) and the mileage reset to zero. Since the rebuild, completed in 2018, the bike has done less than 200 miles. Latest: Mathewsons auction video – they have trouble starting this bike. Turn on ignition, open fuel tap, flood carb with ‘tickler’ and kick over with throttle closed. This is Amal’s recommended procedure for monobloc carbs. (Don’t use the choke/air valve, it’s useless on these bikes).


1953 123cc BSA D1 Bantam

This bike was exported to New Zealand in the mid-1950s and returned to the UK around 2000. I bought it in 2005 and stripped it, rebuilt it, and converted it to 12 volt electrics. It has been stored (unused) in a dry garage since the rebuild. When the bike was first registered in the UK in 2005, by the last previous owner, the speedo read 873 miles. Since my restoration it has done less than 50 miles. Recently the speedo was reconditioned (by H.Woods) and the mileage reset to zero.


2002 125cc Honda CG125

This is a genuine 172 mile bike. It was first bought for commuting by a businessman in Bath. He didn’t like riding in city traffic so he dry stored it, in a brand new garage, for four years. I bought it in 2006 for my son, who, soon after, became unable to ride it due to injury from a physical assault. The bike has been dry stored since 2007 and is almost as good as new. It is an absolute bargain. Where else can you buy a 2002 125cc Honda that has been ridden only 172 miles?


*Triumph Owners Motorcycle Club

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.